Remembering Doria

One Father's Journey after the Death of his Daughter

One Other Connection

Leave a comment

I was finishing the work for one course yesterday when the news broke from Connecticut about the shooting of those dear children. I wrote a paper while I cried, and that was entirely different. 

One thing struck me as I interacted with people. Person after person remarked (through a message board), “I just can’t imagine what it’s like for those parents.” I kept responding with things along these lines: “That’s good. I know what they’re feeling, and it’s even worse than you think.”

The whole thing just reminded me of that first fateful day. The shock when we didn’t hear Doria’s heartbeat. We heard in person. I am so glad that we didn’t have to hear over the phone.

Like everyone, my heart goes out to these people. They just took the biggest punch to the gut that this life offers. It probably isn’t even real right now, and they have that strange mix of adrenalized fatigue that gets things done right now. 

While I know that’s their life today, I know (like so many of you know the hard way) that reality will set in during the next few days. They’ll wake up again, but their child won’t come bounding down the stairs. Someone won’t open their Christmas presents. Day after day, someone that was supposed to be there won’t be, but the hole in their heart will be. 

Pray for them. As strange as it sounds, this is the easy time. It gets worse as it sinks in. Pray for them, would you?

Leave a Reply

